You’ve wandered into the topsy-turvy world of Tulgey Wood, the blog of writer and historian Jim Fanning. Tulgey Wood celebrates artistry and creativity (and sometimes just plain madness): movies, animation, TV, books, comics—and of course Disney, lots and lots of true-blue, through-and-through Disney, including D23 and Disney twenty-three Magazine, and Sketches Magazine and the Walt Disney Collectors Society. Tulgey Wood is so fun, fascinating and full of frolicsome photos and facts, it’s scary. So wander through the wonder of it all, and enjoy.

Sunday, December 16, 2007

Walt Disney TV Treasures

“Disneyland Around the Seasons” was the episode of Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color that aired on Sunday, December 18, 1966, just three days after Walt’s death on December 15, 1966. Walt not only presented a look at his Magic Kingdom throughout the year (including the classic Christmastime Fantasy on Parade), but also gave glimpses of It’s a Small World and Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln, both of which had moved from the 1964-65 New York World’s Fair earlier in 1966. “Disneyland Around the Seasons” is just one of three Wonderful World of Color episodes presented on the new Walt Disney Treasures DVD, Disneyland: Secrets, Stories & Magic, the other two excellent entries being “The Golden Horseshoe Revue” and “Disneyland Goes to the World's Fair” (one of the best behind-the-scenes episodes ever produced for the Disney anthology series). You can get this DVD treasure just about anywhere, as well as here .

1 comment:

Ladytink_534 said...

I'm looking forward to the Oswald release.